Rita Allen Foundation Award in Pain

By MSC Staff | August 21, 2022 | Posted in

Since 2009, the Rita Allen Foundation has awarded annually the Rita Allen Foundation Award in Pain, recognizing emerging experts in basic pain research whose work holds high potential for uncovering new pathways to improve the treatment of chronic pain. Each year, the Foundation typically awards two grants, in the amount of $50,000 per year over three years, to early-career investigators who are pursuing innovative research on mechanisms that initiate and propagate pain in the nervous system. In 2019, three additional pain awards and in 2020 two additional pain awards were awarded by The Rita Allen Foundation with support from the Open Philanthropy Foundation.

Eligible candidates will have completed their training and provided persuasive evidence of distinguished achievement or extraordinary promise for a career in basic science research in pain. Candidates should be in the early stages of their career, with an appointment at the faculty level.

Applications will be open from October 15 – December 15, 2022. Completed applications must be submitted by 11:59 PM Eastern Time on December 15, 2022. Grant awards will be announced in early Spring 2023.

Learn more.

Do you know of a job or a grant?

We're always looking for new jobs and grants. If you know of one, drop us a line in our Contact Form:


  • Content Types

  • Paper Categories

  • Paper Dates

Recent Grants

Recent Jobs